image Iced Wine

I have never been particularly fond of wines. Everything went off for me after I had port wine for the fist time. So every time wine has been served in front of me, I have avoided it with every possible restrain that I possess. In contrast to my abhorrence, my father has a surprisingly huge collection of wine. This time at home, he opened up the whole wine cabinet for me. Usually, alcohol is frowned upon at home, but this action just changed the whole dynamics of my vacation. Like always, I refused to drink any wine. But to introduce a sophisticated palate, he introduced me to Dessert Wine. In UK, dessert wines are usually consumed during a meal, as compared to fortified white wines (fino and amontillado sherry) which is drunk before the meal and fortified red wines (port and madeira) which is consumed after meal.

Anything that has the word dessert has always tempted me. I never knew my father had a fascination for wine history. While serving he was explaining that the Ice wine is a type of dessert wine that has three major producers – Europe, Canada and the United States. However the pioneer status of largest wine producer is Canada hands down.

Legend in making

It is said that the ice wine was discovered by accident when a German winemaker who was away from his vineyard during harvest, returned to find all of his grapes had been frozen on the vine. Undeterred he carried out the unorthodox harvest as usual and proceeded to press his frozen grapes for fermentation. Result is the famous Eiswein.

Production

Ice wine (eiswein in Austria and Germany, or the single-word icewine in Canada) is made by leaving grapes on the vines until temperatures drop to extreme lows (by law, at least 19.4˚F in Germany, 17.6˚F in Canada). Under ideal conditions, the grapes dehydrate and concentrate through the winter. Once a deep frost hits, they freeze into icy pellets that are painstakingly harvested, usually in the dead of night while temperatures remain frigid, and each grape is pressed to extract the sweet and concentrated essence while still they remain frigid. Other than the temperature, the Canadian wine makers make sure that the sugar levels are at least 35 degrees Brix.

Sounds complicated when you read it right? Imagine how painstaking the process will be.

We all know that there are different type of grapes available for making a wine. Ice wine is no different. Canadian wine is produced from vitis vinifera grapes, most commonly Cabernet Franc and Riesling.


  

The first sip unnerved me a bit considering the difference in taste when compared to the regular wines that my sophisticated palate has tasted. The intense sweet taste was somewhat pleasing to my palate. Instead of overwhelming my palate with the intensity, the acidity of wine balances out the sweetness. My father kept teaching me how to swirl the wine and then swallow it. But without such dramatic gestures, you can appreciate the taste in one sip only.

13 comments

  1. very interesting! I greatly enjoy wine, although I am only recently starting to appreciate some well balanced sweet wines. Being in North Carolina, we have many muscadine vineyards and I have been amazed to learn of the variety of different tastes one can get from the same grape. I’ll have to find some ice wine and give it a try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

