image Life of a City girl in a Village

I will always be a city girl at heart. I have never doubted that, and I confirmed that fact when during my medical posting I was posted to stay in a village for 2 months. While one gets used to the hard pace of life in a city, it is a distinct contrast to the ones people live in rural areas. Life slows done like one of those old black-and-white movies. People actually live and believe “early to bed, early to rise.” The crisp, fresh air will soothe your hardened, cynical self. Everything around comes to a sharper contrast, more enriching.

First day of our village life was rather unsettling to say the least. Once the clinic shut its door at 5, there wasn’t much to do. Our dormitories were nothing beyond a group of huts. The local market didn’t have anything beyond fresh farm products and local goods. So you won’t be surprised to hear that the decision was taken mutually by a group of college students to explore more of rural India and take lot of pictures.  

Oh we had our share of entertainment as well. Like the times when one of used to go back to city and stock up on liquors and grass. Or, the times when the village used to procure their own.


I still don’t know what they are called, but looking at the whole them of the parade it appeared to be a parade of folk narration of Indian mythology Ramayana. 

The diversity of India truly gets reflected when you see the folk art. I may have hated Karnataka because of the language barrier, but it definitely did provide me with good memories and the start of my travel craze.

Other than my belonging for a temporary relocation, I packed in lot of new memories during my traipsing around rural Karnataka that I will always cherish.

Boating at Kadalkare Lake

 

A visit to the Phalguni Dam  

To experience the true joy of fresh, organic products, stop by at the Soan’ farm    

We roam around this world, looking for experiences of world-renowned heritage sites, but we often forget to pay visit and marvel the beauty of the local momenuments.

The Jain temple called as Temple of Thousand Pillars located in the city of Moodbidri is a true architectural marvel. I would have shared more pictures tonprove my point, unfortunately the temple follows a strict policy of no photography, and the ones that has been shared with you are the ones that I was able to sneak before the temple guard actually started to follow us around. 

  
 We were surprised with the beauty of Shrimani Fall when we decided to pay a visit to Shrimani to see the famous Sri Sharadamba Temple. This 8th century temple is a magnificent structure dedicated to Goddess Saraswati, found by Sri Adi Shankaracharya. 

The main temple

 

The entire temple structure

 

The beautiful carvings

the bhojanalaya or the dining hall for the general mass

 

Shriman Fall

 

I will never opt to live in a village, that’s for sure. But I’ll never regret the experiences that I have learnt while staying  there. If you are willing to learn more, you can take a peep at the adventures that I had in Agumbe and Konaje Kallu.

16 comments

Leave a Reply

